Ingalls Opens Outpatient Behavioral Services in Tinley Park


(September, 2015)

If you or someone you know is struggling with depression caused by an illness, job loss, divorce or financial difficulties, Ingalls Behavioral Health Services can help.

Ingalls is pleased to announce the Sept. 1 opening of its Intensive Outpatient Program (IOP) at the Ingalls Family Care Center in Tinley Park. A short-term behavioral health treatment program for adults, ages 18 and above, the program treats individuals struggling with depression, stress and anxiety.

Ingalls introduced intensive outpatient therapy at its Flossmoor Family Care Center in 2012. With an excellent response from the community, Ingalls has expanded its services to Tinley Park to serve more patients in need of outpatient therapy west of the hospital’s main campus in Harvey.

“The program has been very well received at our Flossmoor facility,” explains Felicia Houston, M.A., L.C.P.C., licensed clinical professional counselor at Ingalls. “We identified a community need for similar services to the west, so our Tinley Park Family Care Center is the ideal location.”

With afternoon and evening hours for patients who work, the Monday-through-Friday treatment program is designed for people with behavioral health conditions, including depression, which prevents them from enjoying daily life.

Common behaviors associated with depression include staying in bed and withdrawing from friends, family, exercise and other normal activities. Unfortunately, avoidance can lead to additional problems like loneliness, weight gain and falling behind on bills, which in turn, can become new sources of depression.

            “The program helps participants take charge of their own well-being through skill development in areas like positive lifestyle changes, self-image, stress management, problem solving, communication and relationships,” she added. “More than helping people overcome a particular crisis, the program teaches effective, practical ways to respond to any type of emotional distress, especially major crises like the loss of a job, health or relationship.

After a thorough evaluation and diagnosis, treatment plans are created for each individual. Services include neuropsychological testing, cognitive therapy, behavioral therapy, emotion regulation therapy, relaxation techniques, expressive therapy (art or music), social skills training, and medication monitoring. The program treats individuals in crisis as well as those in need of long-term support. Most participants attend sessions five days a week for up to three weeks on average, although treatment varies by an individual’s needs.

The IOP’s multidisciplinary treatment team of experts includes a psychiatrist, psychologist, licensed clinical therapists, registered nurse and an occupational therapist.

A physician referral is not required to receive intensive outpatient services. For more information or to schedule a no-charge assessment, call 708.915.7500.

The new IOP is located at Ingalls Family Care Center, 6701 W. 159th St., Suite 2, Tinley Park, Ill.